Wink Poppy Midnight

Wink Poppy Midnight

By April Genevieve Tucholke

23203106

eARC/paperback ARC-I received this book from Edelweiss, as well as part of a giveaway hosted by Colleen Houck. All opinions are my own.

This title will be available March 22, 2016 in Hardcover, Kindle, and Audible formats

Goodreads synopsis:

“Every story needs a hero.

Every story needs a villain.

Every story needs a secret.

Wink is the odd, mysterious neighbor girl, wild red hair and freckles. Poppy is the blond bully and the beautiful, manipulative high school queen bee. Midnight is the sweet, uncertain boy caught between them. Wink. Poppy. Midnight. Two girls. One boy. Three voices that burst onto the page in short, sharp, bewitching chapters, and spiral swiftly and inexorably toward something terrible or tricky or tremendous.

What really happened?

Someone knows.

Someone is lying.”

Honestly, when I started this book I had no idea what it was about, but I heard it was a good mystery. I had originally been granted access for this on Edelweiss a few months ago and I was excited to read it, but I ended up setting it aside after attempting to read it because I was having a hard time following the story due to the formatting. Fast forward a couple months and I won a physical arc from Colleen Houck’s book club for February (she was showcasing April Genevieve Tucholke). As soon as I received the book I jumped right in and didn’t put it down until I finished it.

The physical arc was much easier to follow because it had clear headings to let you know which character is telling the story at that point since it switches between the perspectives of all three main characters. Overall, it was a quick and easy read, but mysterious and intriguing. The tag line references a hero, a villain, and warns that someone is lying, so it keeps you guessing.

Wink was my favorite character. She is the spunky farm girl that doesn’t care what other people think about her and nothing ruffles her feathers. She believes in magic and loves storytelling.

Poppy is the girl you love to hate. She has all the boys wrapped around her finger and nobody ever questions her leadership. However, you notice that her character is a little more complex as the story progresses and you almost feel sorry for her (I said almost).

Midnight is the sweet boy next door with the strange family dynamic that he struggles with. He has been Poppy’s doormat for so long that he doesn’t know how to move on, until he meets the enigmatic Wink.

The three stories intertwine when Poppy realizes she is started to lose her control over Midnight. She comes up with a plan to make Midnight and Wink miserable to reassert her control, but things don’t always go according to plan.

There was one point in the story where I thought I had it all figured out because it reminded me of a movie I watched years ago (I won’t mention it so I don’t spoil the book or the movie). I admit that I was a little confused by the ending, but maybe it was just me. Definitely pick this one up if you want a quick mystery that keeps you guessing.

Have you read Wink Poppy Midnight? Which character would you be? Do you prefer heroes or villains?

2 thoughts on “Wink Poppy Midnight

Leave a Reply

