Goals for the New Year

Each new year brings new challenges and this time we are talking about reading challenges!

Today I started my final term of grad school and will be graduating at the end of March. This means I need to be able to juggle my classes, job searches, and blogging. What it REALLY means is I don’t have time to sign up for every single awesome reading challenge out there (and there are a lot of them). After blog hopping and browsing my  Twitter feed, I finally narrowed down my final list of challenges for the year.

backlist-books

The Backlist Books Reading Challenge is hosted by Pretty Deadly Reviews

*I chose this challenge because I recently did an inventory of my books and there are over 600 in my room alone. Unfortunately, I have read less than half of them.

flightsoffantasy-2016

The Flights of Fantasy Reading Challenge is hosted by Alexa Loves Books and Hello, Chelly

*I chose this challenge because fantasy is my favorite genre and it doesn’t have specific number requirements

re-read252520challenge

The Re-Read Challenge is hosted by So Obsessed With

*I chose this challenge because there are a lot of sequels coming out this year and I will probably need a refresher before I read the new ones. This will probably include a lot of Sarah J. Maas books.

final2b22blarge

The Finishing the Series Reading Challenge is hosted by Bea’s Book Nook

*I chose this challenge because I have started a lot of series and haven’t finished the last few books from several of them. I am hoping to finish the Morganville Vampires series by Rachel Caine, the Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris, The Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson, the Stephanie Plum series by Janet Evanovich, and the Goldy Schulz mysteries by Diane Mott Davidson. This is one of the only challenges I’m doing that is primarily adult novels. This will put me at the Level 3: Experienced series reader status.

I thought about doing the Series a Month Challenge hosted by Love at First Page, but I wasn’t sure if I would be able to keep up with everything else that is going on this year.

reading_challenge_banner-ba48574a10ea6717fda20c7965d357d5Lastly, I also increased my Goodreads goal from 52 to 78 (although I hope to read more).

What challenges are you participating in this year? Any books that you are really looking forward to? Are you on a buying ban until you get through some of your unread books too?

2 thoughts on “Goals for the New Year

  1. As I was reading through your post, I was thinking I wanted to tell you about Goodreads. I get to the end of the post and of course you already know! Oh man, they have made it possible to have the neverending to-read list. Not a terrible problem to have though. Good for you having such a high goal of books to read this year all while balancing grad school and life in general! I’m going for 40.

    Like

Leave a Reply

