Top 10 Best Books I’ve Read in 2015

Top 10 of 2015

 

Yay for Day 1 in the Top 10 of 2015! This is my first time participating in one of these and I’m really excited about it! Thank you to Fiktshun, Tales of a Ravenous Reader, Magical Urban Fantasy Reads, and Two Chicks on Books for hosting!

I had been in a bit of a reading slump the past few years. Between working two jobs, going to grad school full time, and dealing with a ridiculous commute I just didn’t have the time. I am happy to say that I made it out of the slump this year with the help of some pretty amazing books.

  1. Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

 

16429619

I won this book as part of a giveaway from the publisher and I immediately fell in love.

     2. Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson

21569527

 

This ARC was also part of the giveaway prize pack and I couldn’t have been more thankful to have the sequel when I finished Kiss of Deception. Now I am anxiously awaiting The Beauty of Darkness.

    3. The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

18798983

This book renewed my love for retellings and it was beautifully written.

   4. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

16096824

Another excellent retelling! I have a hard time passing up anything related to Beauty and the Beast.

   5. The Storyspinner by Becky Wallace

22546577

This tale was woven with the expertise of a true storyspinner.

   6. I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios

21469068

Red, vintage, neon motel sign on blue sky; Shutterstock ID 95002717

I won this book by participating in a writing challenge. As former military, this book was incredibly meaningful to me and I can’t thank Heather enough for writing it.

   7. Trouble is a Friend of Mine by Stephanie Tromly

 

23354047

This came in one of my Owlcrate boxes and I had never actually heard of it. It was fun, lighthearted, mysterious, and kept me laughing with the quick dialogue.

   8. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

17878931

I was a little wary about reading this after all of the hype, but I’m glad I did. I really enjoyed the mix of fantasy and dystopian.

   9. The Orphan Queen by Jodi Meadows

 

18081228

I was impressed by all of the strong female characters this year and Wilhelmina was no exception.

   10. The entire Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas

23599075

I know I was behind the times, but I’m actually really glad that I got to read them consecutively leading up to the release of Queen of Shadows. Of course now I have a massive book hangover that will linger until the next book comes out.

 

Honorable mentions:

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

Blood & Salt by Kim Liggett

I Heart Robot by Suzanne von Rooyen

There were plenty of other great reads that I came across this year and my TBR is about a mile long at this point, so I am sure you will be seeing many of those books on here next year.

Don’t forget to check out the other blog posts!

One thought on “Top 10 Best Books I’ve Read in 2015

Leave a Reply

